In the Digital Economy, the HOW is More Important Than the WHY

A clearly articulated purpose is only effective when accompanied with an authentic process.

Erik P.M. Vermeulen, PhD
5 min readMar 1, 2020

--

I was in Rwanda last week. It wasn’t my first time. I visited the country last year, but this time I was even more impressed.

You can see how Africa is catching up with the rest of the world when you are on the ground in Kigali. And I don’t refer to the first “made-in Africa” mobile phones or the first commercial operational drone delivery service. I am talking about the entrepreneurial ecosystem.

I was in Rwanda to support the government with drafting policies and implementing measures that would encourage more entrepreneurship and foreign investments in the private sector.

You can call this my WHY. I want my work to inspire and impact people. I want to make a difference by helping people, organizations, and societies become more entrepreneurial, innovative, and successful in the digital economy.

Simon Sinek and others inspired by his ideas have done an excellent job of explaining the importance of finding your WHY.

But what I learned in Rwanda is that we must change the conversation and focus much more on the HOW. The question of HOW to encourage…

--

--